A Schubert Sonata

Choreography by: Richard Tanner

Music by: Franz Schubert

Social Media Buttons


Sonata in A Major, Opus 162, D. 574 for Violin and Piano
February 10, 1994, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Wendy Whelan, Nikolaj Hübbe, Yvonne Borree, Ethan Stiefel, Benjamin Bowman, Monique Meunier, Jock Soto

21 min.

Schubert created this four-movement work for violin and piano at the age of 20. The ballet is set on seven dancers. The music's youthful exuberance and joy is revealed in the first movement's pas de deux, the pas de trois of the second movement, the third movement pas de deux, and the spirited reunion of all in the ballet's fourth movement finale. The costumes were designed by Holly Hynes and the lighting was designed by Mark Mongold.
Richard Tanner was born in Phoenix, Arizona, where he began his dance training with Robert Lindgren and Sonja Tyven. He received a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the University of Utah and continued his dance training at the School of American Ballet. Mr. Tanner joined Oklahoma's Ballet West as a Soloist from 1967 through 1970. He then joined New York City Ballet where he danced for 10 years. He began his choreographic career in 1971 with two works for New York City Ballet. From 1981 to 1983, Mr. Tanner served as Regisseur Generale at American Ballet Theatre, and from 1985 to 1990 as Associate Artistic Director of the Pennsylvania Ballet. For New York City Ballet, Mr. Tanner has also choreographed Ancient Airs and Dances.