Featured Roles Since Joining NYCB

George Balanchine
  • Agon
  • Chaconne
  • Danses Concertantes
  • Divertimento No. 15
  • "Emeralds" from Jewels
  • The Four Temperaments
  • George Balanchine's The Nutcracker® (Hot Chocolate, Cavalier)
  • A Midsummer Night's Dream (Demetrius)
  • La Valse
  • Liebeslieder Walzer
  • Slaughter on Tenth Avenue (Morrosine)
  • Union Jack
August Bournonville
  • Bournonville Divertissements
Peter Martins
  • Fearful Symmetries
  • Les Gentilhommes
  • The Sleeping Beauty (The Wolf)
  • Swan Lake (Hungarian, Spanish)
Justin Peck
  • In Creases
  • Pulcinella Variations
  • The Times Are Racing
Jerome Robbins
  • 2 & 3 Part Inventions
  • The Concert
  • Glass Pieces
  • The Goldberg Variations
Richard Tanner
  • Episodes & Sarcasms
Christopher Wheeldon
  • Carousel (A Dance)
  • Polyphonia

Originated featured roles in

  • Matthew Neenan: The Exchange
  • Justin Peck: The Decalogue, Everywhere We Go, The Most Incredible ThingNew Blood, Rodeo: Four Dance Episodes, Principia
  • Pam Tanowitz: Bartók Ballet
  • Myles Thatcher: Polaris
  • Peter Walker: ten in seven

Originated corps roles in

  • JR: Les Bosquets
  • Peter Martins: Ocean's Kingdom
  • Benjamin Millepied: Quasi Una Fantasia and Why am I not where you are
  • Alexey Miroshnichenko: The Lady with The Little Dog
  • Justin Peck: Paz de la JollaScherzo Fantastique, The Times Are RacingYear of the Rabbit
  • Alexei Ratmansky: Odessa
  • Liam Scarlett: Acheron
  • Troy Schumacher: The Winds Still Brings
  • Peter Walker: dance odyssey

Daniel Applebaum was born in Olney, Maryland. At age seven, he began studying ballet with Maryland Youth Ballet. He attended summer courses at the School of American Ballet (SAB), the official school of New York City Ballet, in 2000 and 2001, becoming a full time student that fall. In October 2004, he became an apprentice with New York City Ballet and joined the corps de ballet in July 2005. Mr. Applebaum was promoted to soloist in October 2018.


Mr. Applebaum was a recipient of the Mae L. Wien Award for Outstanding Promise in 2004.

Portrait © Erin Baiano