Choreography by: George Balanchine

Music by: Mikhail Glinka

Later called Glinkaiana. The second movement was later performed as the standalone work Valse Fantaisie.

Social Media Buttons


Polka in B flat (1840-52); Valse-Fantaisie for Piano (1839), orchestrated 1845, re-orchestrated 1856; Jota Aragonesa (Carpiccio Brillante) (1845); Divertimento Brillante, based on themes from Bellini's 'La Sonnambula' (1832)
November 23, 1967, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Violette Verdy, Paul Mejia, Mimi Paul, John Clifford, Melissa Hayden, Patricia McBride, Edward Villella

Costumes by
Esteban Francés
Set by
Esteban Francés
Lighting by
Esteban Francés