Choreography by: Peter Martins

Music by: Esa-Pekka Salonen

A rhapsodic score by composer Esa-Pekka Salonen provides the inspiration in Martins' work for 14 dancers as they interact with a prismatic scenic design by architect Santiago Calatrava.

Created for New York City Ballet’s Architecture of Dance Festival, Mirage features scenic design by the acclaimed architect Santiago Calatrava, and is set to Esa-Pekka Salonen’s Violin Concerto, which was co-commissioned by NYCB, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Los Angeles Philharmonic. Although Mirage is his first work to a score by Salonen, Martins has long been a champion of contemporary music and has choreographed numerous works to music by living composers, many of them commissioned by NYCB. The Violin Concerto premiered as part of Salonen’s final season as music director of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and the composer has called the concerto a musical memoir of his 27 years with that organization. On the occasion of the world premiere of Mirage, which took place during NYCB’s 2010 Spring Season, both Salonen and Martins were awarded Letters of Distinction from the American Music Center for their significant contributions to the field of contemporary American music.

Social Media Buttons


Violin Concerto
June 22, 2010, New York City Ballet, David H. Koch Theater
Original Cast
Jennie Somogyi, Jared Angle, Kathryn Morgan, Chase Finlay, Erica Pereira, Anthony Huxley

31 Min.
Costumes by
Marc Happel
Set by
Santiago Calatrava
Lighting by
Mark Stanley