Quiet City

Choreography by: Jerome Robbins

Music by: Aaron Copland

Brooklyn-born Aaron Copland (1900-90) composed Quiet City in 1939, to accompany a short-lived production by the Group Theatre of an Irving Shaw play. Copland expanded the work into an orchestral suite for trumpet, English horn, and strings the following year. Influenced by jazz, blues, and other American themes and idioms, Copland has written some of the most familiar and often used music in twentieth century American ballet: Billy the Kid (1938), choreography by Eugene Loring; Rodeo (1942), choreography by Agnes de Mille; Appalachian Spring (1942), choreography by Martha Graham; and The Pied Piper (1951) choreographed by Jerome Robbins to Copland's Concerto for Clarinet and String Orchestra, with Harp and Piano.

Social Media Buttons


Quiet City (1940)
May 8, 1986, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Robert La Fosse, Peter Boal, Damian Woetzel

Lighting by
Jennifer Tipton