Robert Schumann's "Davidsbündlertänze"

Choreography by: George Balanchine

Music by: Robert Schumann

Poignant and purely poetic, Robert Schumann's "Davidsbündlertänze" takes audiences back to a time of refinement in an arresting series of dances intimating this brilliant composer's oft troubled psyche.

Robert Schumann's "Davidsbündlertänze" was one of Balanchine's last major works. Against a setting inspired, in part, by the works of the 19th century German Romantic painter Caspar David Friedrich, a series of dances unfolds for four couples. While not literally a biographical narrative, the ballet draws on the life of Schumann, its alternating moods suggesting the episodes of joy and depression that marked the composer's short career.

Schumann composed the 18 piano pieces that comprise the Davidsbündlertänze to celebrate his reconciliation with sweetheart Clara Wieck after a 16-month estrangement in 1837; the work was published, at his own expense the next year.

The title, which literally translates as "Dances of the League of David," refers to an imaginary society of artists created by Schumann whose members represent different aspects of his personality. Their common aim: to fight the Philistines, those who oppose art or innovation in the arts.


Social Media Buttons


Davidsbündlertänze, Op. 6 (1837)
June 19, 1980, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Karin von Aroldingen, Suzanne Farrell, Kay Mazzo, Heather Watts, Adam Lüders, Jacques d'Amboise, Ib Andersen, Peter Martins

41 Min.
Costumes by
Rouben Ter-Arutunian
Set by
Rouben Ter-Arutunian
Lighting by
Mark Stanley