A Suite of Dances

Choreography by: Jerome Robbins

Music by: Johann Sebastian Bach

Performed with an onstage cellist, A Suite of Dances is a solo tour de force for a male dancer that is at once witty and pensive.

Towards the end of his life, Jerome Robbins was especially inspired by his love for Bach’s music, and he choreographed three of his late works to Bach. A Suite of Dances is set to the Six Suites for Solo Cello, composed when Bach served as Kappellmeister in Cöthen and which cover a broad range of emotional territory. In the early 1990s, when Mikhail Baryshnikov expressed interest in working with Robbins again, the choreographer called to say he had "an idea for a little dance." This charming, naturalistic ballet was the result. In it, the solo dancer and cellist act as partners, playing off each other with easy-going camaraderie.

Social Media Buttons


6 Suites for Solo Cello: Prelude & Gigue from Suite 1 in G major, BMV 1007 Sarabande from Suite V in C minor, BMV 1011 Prelude from VI in D major, BMV 1012
March 3, 1994, White Oak Project, New York State Theater
NYC Ballet Premiere
May 10, 1994, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Mikhail Baryshnikov

NYC Ballet Original Cast
Mikhail Baryshnikov* (*guest artist)
14 Min.
Costumes by
Santo Loquasto
Lighting by
Jennifer Tipton