Suite from L'Histoire du Soldat

Choreography by: Peter Martins

Music by: Igor Stravinsky

L’Histoire du Soldat was composed by Stravinsky in 1917 and was first presented in 1918 in Lausanne, Switzerland.  Originally, it was a narrative ballet in five scenes; subsequent versions have given the music several very different interpretations and its choreographers have included Robert Helpmann, John Cranko, and Eliot Feld. Martins’ work is an abstract ballet for twenty-two dancers set to the concert suite Stravinsky created in 1920.

Social Media Buttons


Suite from L'Histoire du Soldat (1918)
January 29, 1981, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Darci Kistler, Ib Andersen, Jean-Pierre Frohlich, Kyra Nichols, Heather Watts, Victor Castelli, Bart Cook, Daniel Duell

27 Min.
Costumes by
Ben Benson
Lighting by
Ronald Bates