Symphony No. 6 Pathétique

Choreography by: Jerome Robbins, George Balanchine

Music by: Peter Ilyitch Tschaikovsky

Robbins' Allegro con Gracia and Balanchine's Adagio Lamentoso performed together as one ballet for one performance only to close the Tschaikovsky Festival in 1981.

Social Media Buttons


Symphony No. 6, "Pathétique", second, third, and fourth movements (1893)
June 14, 1981, New York City Ballet, Tschaikovsky Festival, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Allegro con Gracia: Patricia McBride, Helgi Tomasson
Adagio Lamentoso: Karin von Aroldingen, Judith Fugate, Stephanie Saland

Costumes by
Ben Benson (Allegro con Gracia) and Rouben Ter-Arutunian (Adagio Lamentoso)
Lighting by
Ronald Bates