Choreography by: Robert La Fosse and Robert Garland

Music by: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Mozart is said to have composed this septet for oboe, two horns, and a string quartet in 1776 for the 25th birthday of his older sister, Maria Anna (known as "Nannerl"), possibly in memory of their days together in Paris 10 years earlier. The opening and concluding marches carry the note Marcia alla Francese ("march in the French style"), further emphasizing the French flavor of this piece.
At its premiere, this ballet for a principal couple, four demi-soloist couples, and a corps of 16 was danced by equal numbers of dancers from New York City Ballet and Dance Theatre of Harlem.

Social Media Buttons


Divertimento No. 11 in D, K. 251 (1776)
May 25, 2000, The Diamond Project IV, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Kyra Nichols, Donald Williams* (*Guest artist, Dance Theatre of Harlem)

25 Min.
Costumes by
Pamela Allen Cummings
Lighting by
Mark Stanley