Concerto DSCH

Choreography by: Alexei Ratmansky

Music by: Dmitri Shostakovich

With its thrilling Shostakovich score and dramatic texture, Concerto DSCH excels with classical ingenuity and contemporary stylishness.

Dmitri Shostakovich was a fan of ballet and composed numerous dance scores in the 1930s, including The Bolt and The Bright Stream. Alexei Ratmansky has choreographed both of those works for the Bolshoi Ballet, and for New York City Ballet's 2008 spring season, Ratmansky created another work to a score by Shostakovich, this time the Piano Concerto No. 2. Shostakovich wrote the concerto in 1957 as a birthday gift for his 19-year-old son Maxim, and it displays the composer's optimistic energy after the repressions of the Stalinist era. The opening allegro evokes a brisk military march with the piano referencing the British melody "Drunken Sailor." By contrast, the andante movement basks in Russian soulfulness for the strings, piano, and solo horn. The brief, invigorating allegro finale takes on a 7/8 meter as the entire orchestra sprints to the finish. The ballet's title refers to a musical motif used by Shostakovich to represent himself, with four notes that, when written in German notation, stand in for his initials in the German spelling (D. Sch.).

View a slideshow of images from Concerto DSCH >


Social Media Buttons


Concerto No. 2 in F Major, Op. 102 (1957)
May 29, 2008 New York City Ballet New York State Theater
Original Cast
Wendy Whelan, Ashley Bouder, Benjamin Millepied, Joaquin De Luz, Gonzalo Garcia

22 Min.
Costumes by
Holly Hynes
Lighting by
Mark Stanley