Adams Violin Concerto

Choreography by: Peter Martins

Music by: John Adams

The music is the result of an unusual three-way commission between the London Symphony Orchestra, the Minnesota Orchestra and New York City Ballet. The Minnesota Orchestra gave the work its premiere in January 1994, with Edo de Waart conducting and Jorja Fleezanis as soloist. Gidon Kremer was the soloist when the London Symphony Orchestra gave Violin Concerto its European premiere in June 1994 under Kent Nagano. The Third Movement received its New York premiere at New York City Ballet's Opening Night Gala as a stand-alone work titled X-Ray on November 22, 1994.

Social Media Buttons


Violin Concerto (1994)
June 1, 1995, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Darci Kistler, Wendy Whelan, Jock Soto, Nikolaj Hübbe, Nilas Martins

32 Min.
Costumes by
Holly Hynes
Lighting by
Mark Stanley