Concerto for Two Solo Pianos

Choreography by: Peter Martins

Music by: Igor Stravinsky

Concerto for Two Solo Pianos is a ballet for three soloists — one woman and two men — with a corps of 12 women. The music, composed by Stravinsky and performed with two onstage pianos, is a complex, percussive arrangement matched by intricate steps and partnering by the lead dancers. Originally choreographed for New York City Ballet’s 1982 Stravinsky Celebration, choreographer Peter Martins explores classical technique in a modern, edgy style. The central female dancer in a white unitard is pulled between the forces of two male dancers — one in red, the other in black — each representing a piano theme. In the end the musical themes are united in a final pas de trois.

Social Media Buttons


Concerto for Two Solo Pianos (1935)
June 13, 1982, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Heather Watts, Ib Andersen, Jock Soto

22 Min.
Costumes by
Ben Benson
Lighting by
Ronald Bates