Jazz (Six Syncopated Movements)

Choreography by: Peter Martins

Music by: Wynton Marsalis

America's vast historical canvas provides the inspiration for this work which represents the first collaboration between Wynton Marsalis and Peter Martins. The commissioned score, performed by an 11-piece jazz ensemble, was created in close collaboration with the choreographer who specifically requested six movements, four of them marches, with exact timings for each section — a working relationship not unlike that of Peter Ilyitch Tschaikovsky and Marius Petipa, Leonard Bernstein and Jerome Robbins, Igor Stravinsky and George Balanchine on occasion. The ballet's movements — Jubilo; The Scent of Democracy, Tick Tock; Night Fall on Toyland; Trail of Tears; Across Death Ground; Express Crossing; Astride Iron Horses, D in the key of F; Now the Blues, Ragtime; and Syncopated with Style — incorporate different facets of the national experience including America's romance with the railroad and frontier fascination to the unique sounds and rhythms of New Orleans.

Social Media Buttons


Jazz (Six Syncopated Movements)
January 14, 1993, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Yvonne Borree, Melinda Roy, Heather Watts, Wendy Whelan, Albert Evans, Tom Gold, Arch Higgins, Nicolaj Hübbe, Nilas Martins, Alexander Ritter, Jock Soto

30 min.