Choreography by: Birgit Cullberg

Music by: Béla Bartók

Social Media Buttons


13 piano pieces, including Allegro Barbaro and selections from 14 Bagatelles, Mikrokosmos, and Suite: Op. 14, 4 Dirges, orchestrated by Herbert Sandberg. Inspired by the Greek legend, as dramatized by Euripides.
October 31, 1950, Rikstheatern Gaevle, Sweden
NYC Ballet Premiere
November 26, 1958, City Center of Music and Drama
Original Cast
Violette Verdy, Jacques d'Amboise, Melissa Hayden

Costumes by
Lewis Brown
Lighting by
David Hays