Symphonie Concertante

Choreography by: George Balanchine

Music by: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphonie Concertante was originally presented by students of the School of American Ballet in a 1945 Carnegie Hall program entitled Adventure in Ballet. This large three-movement — Allegro maestoso, Andante, and Presto — work bears a very close relationship to its music. The two principal ballerina roles correspond to the solo instruments; one suggesting the violin part and the other, the viola. Balanchine noted that the ballerinas "do not represent the instruments in any literal sense; their dances are simply accompanied by the instruments. The ballerinas leave the stage when the violin and viola are silent, returning when the instruments are heard again."

Social Media Buttons


Symphonie Concertante in E-flat major for Violin, Viola and Orchestra, K.364 (1779)
November 5, 1945, School of American Ballet, Carnegie Hall
NYC Ballet Premiere
November 12, 1947, Ballet Society, City Center of Music and Drama
Original Cast
Students of the School of American Ballet, Todd Bolender* (*guest artist)

NYC Ballet Original Cast
Tanaquil Le Clercq, Maria Tallchief, Todd Bolender
Costumes by
James Stewart Morcom
Set by
James Stewart Morcom
Lighting by
Jean Rosenthal