The Seven Deadly Sins (Sloth, Pride, Anger, Gluttony, Lust, Avarice, Envy)

Choreography by: George Balanchine

Music by: Kurt Weill

Social Media Buttons


The Seven Deadly Sins (1933). Libretto by Bertolt Brecht (translated by W.H. Auden and Chester Kallman)
June 7, 1933 as Les Sept Peches Capitaux, Les Ballets 1933, Théâtre Des Champs-Elysées, Paris
NYC Ballet Premiere
December 4, 1958, City Center of Music and Drama
Original Cast
Lotte Lenya, Tilly Losch

NYC Ballet Original Cast
Lotte Lenya, Allegra Kent
Costumes by
Rouben Ter-Arutunian
Set by
Rouben Ter-Arutunian
Lighting by
Rouben Ter-Arutunian