Waltz Trilogy

Choreography by: Robert La Fosse

Music by: Carl Maria von Weber, Franz Liszt, Peter Ilyitch Tschaikovsky

Waltz Trilogy is former Principal Dancer Robert La Fosse's first work since his Puss in Boots for the School of American Ballet's Spring 1990 Workshop. This ballet, which features waltzes by von Weber, Liszt, and Tschaikovsky, is in three sections: the first section is for a principal ballerina, four soloists, and corps de ballet; the second section for a principal ballerina and corps of eight men; the third movement for a principal couple and a corps of 24.

Social Media Buttons


Invitation to the Dance Op. 65 (1819) by Carl Maria von Weber, orchestrated by Hector Berlioz
Mephisto-Waltz (1858) by Franz Liszt
Polonaise and Waltz from Eugene Onegin (1879) by Peter Ilyitch Tschaikovsky
February 7, 1991, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater
Original Cast
Kyra Nichols, Maria Calegari, Ben Huys, Kathleen Tracey, Yvonne Borree, Rebecca Metzger, Miriam Mahdaviani

Costumes by
Gary Lisz
Lighting by
Stan Pressner